top of page

Design matters! Why an overlay plan is important.

I read today, a new Dairy Queen was approved in Holly Springs on Sixes Road. We really need an overlay so design is consistent throughout the Sixes Community. I feel like we are being punished like an innocent child stuck in the middle of a divorce. Cherokee County and The City of Holly Springs have been feuding for years. The good news is, I think the relationship t is repairing slowly. I feel positive about the future. Relationship progress however, is slower than the physical developments of business structures popping up faster than weeds on a lawn. Building structures and tacky designs I fear will be in place faster than the relationship will heal (in my humble opinion). And the longer we are without an Overlay Plan, we will be muted. We effectively will be waited out, until an overlay is no longer needed. "Already developed, too late!" are the words I envision hearing with a "Oh well" - and an "Ah shucks, if only you had come to us sooner."

Anytime I talk with a representative (hired gun) presenting on behalf of a client proposing a business in the area, the standard line I hear repeatedly, is, "We are in compliance with the Ordinance". When I ask City or County about a proposals design, ie: How with the monument look. "It falls within the Ordinances." Or something to this effect. I want to physically eye roll. It is a well known, bureaucratic resignation. They are tired, worked, and have tried to do good things in the past, and it probably goes without much reward.

What I find is: Developers and business owners will meet the minimum standard required to keep budgets tight! Great for them. WOW! awful for us as a community! Sixes Community has a great desire to keep a natural scenic vibe, family oriented community with businesses we all will patron HAPPILY. I always talk about GOOD business partners. I like businesses. What is a good business partner? Owners who have their hand on the pulse of the community, who value it, and it in turn is very appreciated by the families who will patron their businesses. Businesses including chain retail and food service, have developed in beautiful communities who have historical landmarks, downtown planning, districts, etc. they understand design is important in for example in downtown Roswell, or Peachtree City, Savannah, etc. It is not unique that a businesses may be asked to adjust the design standards to blend in with their surroundings in a tasteful manner. Planning a community as a whole organism of sorts, is not looking at the arm or the leg separately, but how it will be put together as a whole in the end. Back to the Dairy Queen. I am not sure what was approved. But here are two building designs of the same business. I wonder which one we will get? Altered better design or "They met the ordinances." Time will tell.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page